emersonstreet talk 74

I just returned from Ash Wednesday services.  As I thought about what I would give up for Lent this year, my plan was chocolate, something I really love and need.  Heaven help those who are near me as I go through this withdrawal.  However, our minister tonight challenged us to give up a sin.  Hmmmmmm.  I had to really think about that one.  What am I guilty of.  I must confess it is really hard for me to love everyone, especially really icky people like Rush Limbaugh, Rick Santorum, Carl Rove and so many others who are or pretend to be “Tea Party” people.  Wow, that will be very hard to do. Love is such an intense feeling. Maybe I could try not to hate them and perhaps forgive them eventhough they do know exactly what they do.  Do you think these republicans who profess to be so Christian could give up the sin of telling lies for 46 days? They lie every day about President Obama. I think not. Not even for Lent.

Leave a Reply

